	FOR AGENCY USE ONLY
PERMIT ID#	
AMOUNT PAI	D
CHECK #	
RECEIVED DA	ATE
ACCEPTED B	Υ

VERMONT AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION State Highway Access and Work Permit

FEE SCHEDULE

The applicant shall pay the applicable administrative processing and application review fee by submitting a check made payable to the "**State of Vermont**" to the following address:

Vermont Agency of Transportation
Development Review and Permitting Services Section
Barre City Place
219 N. Main Street
Barre, VT 05641

Municipal and State projects are <u>not</u> exempt from fees. Nonprofit organizations and companies are <u>not</u> exempt from fees. <u>Fees are not refundable</u>. Revisions and time extensions are free.

The Agency reserves the right to return an application that is incomplete, inaccurate or does not meet the requirements for a VSA, Title 19, Section 1111 Permit. The Agency may require an applicant to submit additional information that the Agency considers necessary in order to make a decision on the permit request. Calculate the fee using the table below (only **one** fee per permit)

Residential or Agricultural \$0
Utility Installations \$100
Minor Commercial Developments \$250
Major Commercial Developments \$2,500
Annual Utility Permits \$500

Notes:

- "Residential or Agricultural" means accesses serving a single-family home, a duplex residence, or a logging or field access for agricultural use only. Three or more dwelling units are considered a "Minor" or "Major" Commercial Development." <u>All</u> land subdivisions are considered either "Minor" or "Major Commercial Development;
- 2. "Utility Installations," include each direct connection to the State highway storm water system;
- 3. "Minor Commercial Developments" means a commercial development for which the Agency does not require the applicant to submit a traffic impact study. Resurfacing or reconstructing an existing commercial access is considered a Minor Commercial Development;
- 4. "Major Commercial Developments" means a commercial development for which the Agency requires the applicant to submit a traffic impact study (in any case involving an access permit for a development contributing 75 or more peak hour trips to State highways based upon latest trip generation guidance by Institute of Transportation Engineers);
- 5. "Annual Utility Permits" are the Routine Maintenance and Emergency Repair Permits;
- 6. There exist other types of permits for which a fee is <u>not</u> required. Examples of these types of permits are; temporary traffic control signage, survey or boring work, sidewalks, installation of traffic counting devices, trailer-mounted or permanent speed radar feedback signs and regrading of a roadside ditch;
- 7. Any questions please call the Permitting Services Office at (802) 279-1152

i Likiviii ibii				Town:	FOR AGENCY USE ONLY
				Route: _ Mile Marker: _	
		VERMONT A State Highwa		ANSPORTATION And Work Pe	
Owner's/Applicar	ıt's Name, A	Address, E-mail & Phone	No		
Co-Applicant's N	ame, Addre	ess, E-mail & Phone No.	(if different from	above)	
The location of w	ork (town,	highway route, distance	to nearest mile i	marker or intersect	ion & which side)
Description of wo	ork to be pe	erformed in the highway i	right-of-way (atta	ch plan)	
Fee \$Is a Zoning Perm Is a 30 VSA § 24 Is an Act 250 per Other permit(s) re Date applicant ex	it required' 8 permit re mit require equired? spects work	rees do not apply for resi Pes No quired? Yes No d? Yes No Yes No x to begin (Print name above)	idential or agricu	ne and # of each 20 Position Title:	Permit Application for access)
Sign in Shade	ed area:			Date:	
INSTRUCTIONS:	Transp determ Annota - Origi applica and su	ortation Maintenance Di ine what plans, fee and ited, Title 19, Section 11 nal signatures are requ able) declares under the ibmitted attachments a ee Schedule for applica	strict Office to dother documented 11, permit application and original permit application and permited to the best of the best	etermine your issues are required to be cation request. In all Form. The Calty of perjury that their knowledge e processing and a	-

The work is subject to the restrictions and conditions on the reverse page, plus the Special Conditions stated on the attached page(s).

Date work is to be completed

Date work accepted:

By:

By:

Authorized Representative for Secretary of Transportation

Date work accepted:

Date work accepted:

DTA or Designee

NOTICE: This permit covers only the Vermont Agency of Transportation's jurisdiction over this highway under Vermont Statutes Annotated, Title 19, Section 1111. It does not release the petitioner from the requirements of any other statutes, ordinances, rules or regulations. This permit addresses only access to, work within, and drainage affecting the state highway. It does not address other possible transportation issues, such as access to town highways, use of private roads, and use of railroad crossings. If relevant to the proposed development, such issues must be addressed separately.

No work shall be done under this permit until the owner/applicant has contacted the District Transportation Office at:

RESTRICTIONS AND CONDITIONS

DEFINITIONS:

- "Agency" means the Vermont Agency of Transportation (a/k/a VTrans).
- "Engineer" means the authorized agent of the Secretary of Transportation.
- "Owner/Applicant" means the party(s) to whom the permit is to be issued.
- "Co-Applicant" means the party who performs the work, if other than Owner/Applicant or a secondary Owner/Applicant under a joint permit application.
- "Permit Holder" means the party who currently owns the lands abutting the highway that are the subject of the permit.

GENERAL:

By accepting this permit, or doing any work hereunder, the Owner/Applicant agrees to comply with all of the restrictions and conditions and any imposed special conditions. If the Owner/Applicant is aggrieved by the restrictions and conditions or special conditions of the permit, they shall submit a written request for consideration to the Engineer within 30-days of permit issuance and prior to starting any work. No work will be authorized by the Agency, or performed under the permit, until the dispute is fully resolved.

Vermont Statutes Annotated, Title 30, Chapter 86 ("Dig Safe") requires notice to Dig Safe before starting excavation activities. The Permit Holder or his/her contractor must telephone Dig Safe at 811 at least 48 hours (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays) before, but not more than 30 days before, starting excavation activities at any location. In addition, please note that the Agency and many municipalities <u>are not</u> members of Dig Safe and will need to have their utility facilities investigated with due diligence prior to starting excavation activities in or on the State Highway right-of-way.

The Permit Holder is to have a supervisory representative present any time work is being done in or on the State Highway right-of-way. A copy of this permit and Special Conditions must be in the possession of the individual performing this work for the Permit Holder.

Except with the specific, written permission of the District Transportation Administrator, all work in the State Highway right-of-way shall be performed during normal daylight hours and shall cease on Sunday, on all holidays (which shall include the day before and the day following), during or after severe storms, and between December 1 and April 15. These limitations will not apply for the purposes of maintenance, emergency repairs, or proper protections of the work which includes, but not limited to, the curing of concrete and the repairing and servicing of equipment.

The Owner/Applicant shall be responsible for all damages to persons or property resulting from any work done under this permit, even if the Applicant's Contractor performs the work. All references to the Owner/Applicant also pertain to the Co-Applicant.

The Owner/Applicant must comply with all federal and state statutes or regulations and all local ordinances controlling occupancy of public highways. In the event of a conflict, the more restrictive provision shall apply.

The Owner/Applicant must, in every case where there is a possibility of injury to persons or property from blasting, use a preapproved Blasting Plan. All existing utility facilities shall be protected from damage or injury.

The Owner/Applicant shall erect and maintain barriers needed to protect the traveling public. The barriers shall be properly lighted at night and must be MUTCD (Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices) compliant.

All temporary and permanent traffic control measures and devices shall be MUTCD compliant.

The Owner/Applicant shall not do any work or place any structures or obstacles within the State Highway right-of-way, except as authorized by this permit.

The Owner/Applicant may pay the entire cost of the salary, subsistence and traveling expenses of any inspector appointed by the Engineer to supervise such work.

The Engineer may modify or revoke the permit at any time for safety-related reasons, without rendering the Agency or the State of Vermont liable in any way.

In addition to any other enforcement powers that may be provided for by the law, the Engineer may suspend this permit until compliance is obtained. If there is continued use or activity after suspension, the Engineer may physically close the work area and take corrective action to protect the safety of the highway users.

The Permit Holder shall be responsible to rebuild, repair, restore and make good all injuries or damage to any portion of the highway right-of-way that has been brought about by the execution of the permitted work, for a minimum period of eighteen (18) months after final inspection by the District.

Any approved variance from the permitted plans is to be recorded on "as-builts" with copies provided to both the Chief of Permitting Services and the District Transportation Administrator.

ACCESS:

This permit (if for access) does not become effective until the owner/applicant records in the office of the appropriate municipal clerk, the attached "Notice of Permit Action"

As development occurs on land abutting the highways, the Agency may revoke a permit for access and require the construction of other access improvements such as the combination of access points by adjoining owners.

Under Vermont Statutes Annotated, Title 19, Section 1111, no deed purporting to subdivide land abutting a state highway can be recorded unless all the abutting lots so created are in accordance with the standards of Section 1111.

The Permit Holder acknowledges and agrees that neither this permit nor any prior pattern of use creates an ownership interest or other form of right in a particular configuration or number of accesses to or through the highway right-of-way, and that the right of access consists merely of a right to reasonable access the general system of streets, and is not a right to the most convenient access or any specific configuration of access.

DRAINAGE:

The Owner/Applicant shall install catch basins and outlets as may be necessary, in the opinion of the Engineer, to preclude interference with the drainage of the state highway. Direct connections shall <u>not</u> be allowed without written approval.

UTILITY WORK; CUTTING AND TRIMMING TREES:

The Owner/Applicant shall obtain the written consent of the adjoining owners or occupants or, in the alternative, an order from the State Transportation Board in accordance with, Vermont Statutes Annotated, Title 30, Section 2506, regarding cutting of or injury to trees.

In general, all utilities shall be located adjacent to the State Highway right-of-way boundary line and shall be installed without damaging the highway or the highway right-of-way. No pole, push-brace, guy wire or other aboveground facilities shall be placed closer than 10 feet to the edge of traveled-way. If the proposed utility facilities are in conflict with the above, each location is subject to the approval of the Engineer.

Poles and appurtenances shall be located out of conflict with intersection sight distance, guardrail, ditches, signs, culverts, etc.

Where the cutting or trimming of trees is authorized by permit, all debris resulting from such cutting and trimming shall be removed from the State Highway right-of-way.

Open cut excavation for highway crossings is NOT the option of the Applicant, and may be utilized only where attempted jacking, drilling, or tunneling methods fail or are impractical. The Owner/Applicant shall obtain an appropriate modification of the highway permit from the Engineer before making an open cut.

JOINT PERMITS:

A joint permit application is required when more than one party will be involved with the construction, maintenance, and/or operation of the facility being constructed under this permit. Examples include, but are not limited to, joint ownership or occupancy of a utility pole line and construction of a municipal utility line by a contractor. Both utility companies, and in the second case, the municipality and the contractor, must be joint applicants.