

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 19, 2023

Contact: Allison Laflamme, Agency of Transportation

802-498-8079, Allison.Laflamme@vermont.gov

Agency of Transportation Hosts 2023 Highway Safety Awards Ceremony

Barre, Vt. – The Vermont Agency of Transportation (AOT) State Highway Safety Office (SHSO) and the Vermont Highway Safety Alliance (VHSA) held the annual Highway Safety Awards ceremony at the Vermont State House today. These awards are presented to highway safety professionals around the state for their exceptional work and commitment to keeping Vermont's roadways safe for all users.

"Highway safety is always a top priority for the Agency of Transportation, and we value these annual awards that honor the professionals throughout Vermont who work tirelessly to keep everyone safe on our roads," said Transportation Secretary Joe Flynn. "Their contributions help to reduce crashes and fatalities. We are truly thankful for each and every one of this year's winners, as well as all those working in highway safety law enforcement, education, engineering, and emergency medical services."

The SHSO presented eight Highway Safety Awards and the VHSA presented two awards. The awards were presented by Secretary Flynn and AOT SHSO Administrator Allison Laflamme.

2023 AOT HIGHWAY SAFETY AWARD WINNERS

Fletcher Brush Educational Outreach Award

Joseph Barch, Vermont Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association

Rising Star Enforcement Award

Deputy First Class Gregory Ricketts, Rutland County Sheriff's Department

Impaired Driving Prevention and Enforcement Award

Anisha Paul, Vermont Forensic Laboratory, Toxicology Section

Drug Recognition Expert Award

• Officer Bradley Miller, Williston Police Department

Operations and Safety Bureau Directors' Award

• Kristin Driscoll, Vermont Agency of Transportation

Ruby Rainault Occupant Protection Award (Awarded Posthumously)

Deputy Laurna Noyes, Essex County Sheriff's Department

Sergeant Michael Johnson Lifesaver Award

• Trooper Christopher Hein, Vermont State Police

Highway Safety Achievement Award

Ted Minall

2023 Vermont Highway Safety Alliance Award Winners

Crossing Guard Award:

• Wayne King, Rutland City Public Schools

Highway Safety Engineering Award:

• Jennifer Conley, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.

In federal fiscal year 2023, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration awarded the State of Vermont \$6.4 million for highway safety behavior change programs.

The SHSO awards federal highway safety grant funds to local, state, and non-profit agencies for projects to improve highway safety and reduce deaths and serious injuries due to crashes. More information about the SHSO and the awards can be found at https://shso.vermont.gov/. AOT would like to thank all our highway safety partners who continue to work to make our roads safer for everyone.

###