Certification

The Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans) certifies Disadvantaged Business Enterprises (DBE) according to federal law. A DBE is a small, for-profit business that is at least 51 percent owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals.

In-State Certification

If you wish to be considered for DBE certification, your business must meet the following general guidelines:
  1. The business must be at least 51 percent owned by one or more socially and economically disadvantaged individuals. A socially disadvantaged individual is a citizen (or lawfully admitted permanent resident) who is a member of one of the following groups: Black American, Hispanic American, Native American, Asian-Pacific American, Subcontinent American, or Female.

  2. The company must be an independent business, and one or more of the socially disadvantaged owners must control its management and daily operations.

  3. Only existing “for-profit” businesses may be certified, and DBE applicants are subject to applicable small business size standards (average annual gross receipts not to exceed $20.41 million over the previous three fiscal years)

  4. The personal net worth (PNW) of each socially and economically disadvantaged owner must not exceed $1.32 million (with regulatory exclusions).

  5. Use this application to apply for Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) certification. This application is only for businesses residing in the State of Vermont.

Application-related Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's) are available and applicants are encouraged to review the FAQs prior to completing the application.

Out of State Certification

A DBE certification is only valid in the state in which the certification was issued. Once you have obtained certification in your home sate, you should contact the DBE Liaison Officer from the state in which you want to obtain certification (the full contact list is available at:
https://www.transportation.gov/civil-rights/disadvantaged-business-enterprise/dbe-program-points-contact

They will inform you of the required documents.

For certification in Vermont, we require the following information:

  1. A copy of your most current home state DBE certification letter; and

  2. A completed copy of the attached Out of State Certification Request form.

This information should be sent to Sonya Boisvert, Civil Rights & Labor Compliance, Vermont Agency of Transportation, 1 National Life Drive Montpelier VT 05633-5001.

Reciprocal certification is contingent upon review and approval by VTrans. Please be aware that reciprocal certification is not guaranteed; rather we will review all materials submitted and may ask additional questions of your business.

Annual Update
If you are a VTrans-certified DBE, the annual certification date is November 30th and the annual update form must be completed to maintain your certification. Email notifications are sent out between mid to late October. Please check your inbox for this notification. If your email has changed please notify Sonya Boisvert. Thank you.