Vermont Rail Advisory Council

The Vermont Rail Council was originally created by executive order in 1993 to provide advice to the Governor and the Agency of Transportation on rail issues. Governor James Douglas' Executive Order #13-03, dated August 5, 2003, established the Vermont Rail Advisory Council and designated its membership and duties anew. This new executive order supersedes Executive Order #08-01. Membership is drawn from owners of private rail industry, operators of state-owned railroads, freight shippers, environmental and economic development organizations, regional chambers of commerce, regional planning commissions, the House and Senate Transportation Committees, and travel and recreation organizations.

The Council meets quarterly.  All meetings are open to the public, and minutes are published on this website.

More information can be found at the State of Vermont Board and Commissions website.

Establishing Statute: EO 13-11

Description: The Council advises the Agency of Transportation on statewide rail issues, including enhancing freight railway service, examining existing rail passenger services and the availability of passenger station facilities. The Council also serves as a forum for those interested in rail-related issues.

Board Members

Rep. Brian Savage

David Allaire
Chris Andreasson
Charles Baker
Joann Erenhouse
Carl Fowler
Charles Hunter
Charlie Moore
Richard Moulton
J. Jeffrey Munger
Arthur Whitman
David Wulfson


Next Meeting 1:00 - 3:00 PM on September 22nd, 2022

This will be a hybrid meeting.

Location: Dill building, 2178 Airport Rd, Barre, VT and Microsoft Teams.

Click here to join the meeting


Meeting Agenda

Latest DRAFT Meeting Minutes

Latest Approved Meeting Minutes

VRAC Archived Meeting Minutes