Skip to main content

Title VI

What is Title VI?

Title VI, one section among eleven other titles contained within the Civil Rights Act of 1964, is a federal law providing that, “No person in the United States shall, on the grounds of race, color, or national origin, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefit of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.” 42 U.S.C. 2000d Subsequent federal legislation has led to further protections under Title VI based upon age, gender, and disability, whether mental or physical.

Title VI Program Mission:

To ensure nondiscriminatory access to all VTrans’ programs, services, and activities by all interested transportation affected parties including the general public, contractors, subrecipients, consultants, regional planning commissions, towns and municipalities, regional transit providers, and non-profit groups and agencies, among others. The purpose of which is to ensure that no person is excluded from participating in, denied the benefits of, or subjected to either intentional or unintentional discrimination under any program, service, or activity receiving federal assistance or funding.

What Qualifies as Federal Assistance?

Grants and loans of federal funds; The grant or donation of federal property and interests in property; The detail of federal personnel; The sale and lease of, and the permission to use, federal property or any interest in such property without consideration or at minimal consideration, or at a consideration which is reduced for the purpose of assisting the recipient, or in recognition of the public interest to be served by such sale or lease to the recipient; and Any federal agreement, arrangement, or other contract which has as one of its purposes, the provision of assistance or funding.

What does Title VI do?

  • Prohibits entities from denying an individual any service, financial aid, or other benefit because of race, color or national origin

  • Prohibits entities from providing a different service or benefit, or providing these in a different manner from those provided to others under the program.

  • Prohibits segregation or separate treatment in any manner related to receiving program services or benefits.

  • Prohibits entities from requiring different standards or conditions as prerequisites for serving individuals.

  • Encourages the participation of minorities as members of planning or advisory bodies for programs receiving federal funds.

  • Prohibits discriminatory activity in a facility built in whole or part with Federal funds.

  • Requires information and services to be provided in languages other than English when significant numbers of beneficiaries are of limited English speaking ability.

  • Requires entities to notify the respective population about applicable programs.

  • Prohibits locating facilities in any way that would limit or impede access to a Federally funded service or benefit.

  • Requires assurance of nondiscrimination in purchasing of services.

What Title VI does not do?

  • Does not apply to Federal assistance provided through insurance or guaranty contracts, (e.g. FHA loan insurance).

  • Does not apply to employment, except where employment practices results in discrimination against program beneficiaries or where the purpose of the Federal assistance is to provide employment.

  • Does not apply to direct benefit programs such as Social Security.

  • Does not apply only to contracts and set-aside programs.

For further information contact:

Patricia Martin
Title VI Coordinator  
(802) 595-6959